fbpx

The Jacques Cartier Bridge is dressed to the nines for its 90th!

24 July 2020

If you’ve taken the Jacques Cartier Bridge since the start of July, you’ve probably noticed some new visuals flying overhead! To proudly acknowledge the Jacques Cartier’s 90th anniversary, the bridge has been dressed to the nines by our Operations & Maintenance team, who put up 80 banners throughout the almost 3 km-long structure.

Against the backdrop of the bridge, the panels may look small, but they are actually 72 inches high by 36 inches wide!

Installing these visuals on one of Quebec’s busiest bridges was quite the challenge. The team had to work safely while maintaining physical distancing due to COVID-19.

An attenuator truck was on site, and two flaggers kept motorists moving. The team used two boom lifts to secure the 80 banners so that they can withstand all sorts of weather conditions.

Another major challenge during the project was maintaining traffic flow in the road network, which is a core part of JCCBI’s mission. To minimize the impact in the work area, the banners were installed in sections and outside peak periods, or between 10:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m.

Although you’ll want to get a good look at the banners the next time you take the bridge, please stay focused on your driving! The banners pay homage to the thousands of workers who have made the Jacques Cartier a reliable and safe bridge that has been the pride of Montrealers since 1930.

Keep a look out for more of our news in the coming weeks, as we’ll be sending out stories that showcase the great diversity of talented people who work on this iconic bridge.

Happy birthday, Jacques Cartier Bridge!

fbpx

Le pont Jacques-Cartier affiche fièrement ses 90 ans !

24 juillet 2020

Si vous avez emprunté le pont Jacques-Cartier depuis le début du mois de juillet, vous aurez sûrement remarqué du nouveau. Fier de ses 90 ans, le pont s’est mis sur son 31 ! Tout au long de la structure de près de trois kilomètres, 80 oriflammes ont été installés par notre équipe d’Opérations et entretien.

Sur cet immense ouvrage, ces panneaux semblent tout petits… pourtant ils mesurent 72 pouces de hauteur et 36 pouces de largeur !

Installer de tels visuels sur l’un des ponts les plus achalandés du Québec présente de nombreux défis. Il faut travailler de manière sécuritaire, tout en respectant les règles de distanciation dues à la COVID19.

Un camion atténuateur d’impact a été déployé sur place et deux signaleurs assuraient la fluidité du trafic. Pour fixer les 80 oriflammes, deux nacelles ont été nécessaires afin de s’assurer que ces visuels résisteront à toutes les conditions météorologiques.

Un autre grand défi était de maintenir la fluidité du réseau routier, au cœur de la mission de PJCCI. Pour y arriver, la pose des oriflammes a été effectuée par section, afin de minimiser l’impact de la zone de travaux, en plus d’être réalisée en dehors des périodes de pointes, notamment entre 10 h et 14 h.

La prochaine fois que vous passerez sur le pont, vous remarquerez sûrement ces oriflammes… tout en restant concentré sur votre conduite ! Ils sont un rappel des milliers de travailleurs qui, depuis 1930, font du pont Jacques-Cartier une structure fiable et sécuritaire, et dont les Montréalais sont si fiers.

Restez connectés à nos nouvelles, tout au long des prochaines semaines, nous diffuserons une série de témoignages qui démontrent la grande diversité des talents qui œuvrent sur ce pont emblématique.

Bonne fête au pont Jacques-Cartier !