fbpx

Peregrine falcons: Removal of three nesting boxes from the Champlain Bridge

4 December 2019

The Jacques Cartier and Champlain Bridges Incorporated (JCCBI) has permanently removed the three nesting boxes for peregrine falcons on the original Champlain Bridge. This delicate operation was carried out by Skytech, sypervised by Falcon Environmental Services (FES) in preparation for the deconstruction of the Champlain Bridge, which will begin in 2020.  The nesting boxes had to be removed now, as these birds return in early April to start their families.

However, two nesting boxes have been installed on the Samuel De Champlain Bridge to help the falcons move into their new homes on this structure. FES noticed that one falcon had already moved into its new condo! This is a great indication that the transition for the birds is going well.

JCCBI has been working with FES since 2002 to implement compensatory and mitigation measures for the birds, such as installing nesting boxes, setting up a safety perimeter around our work sites during nesting periods, monitoring the birds regularly, or even intervening when necessary.

For more information about the removal of the nesting boxes, see the article in La Presse by clicking here.

fbpx

Faucons pèlerins : retrait des trois nichoirs du pont Champlain

4 décembre 2019

Les Ponts Jacques Cartier et Champlain Incorporée (PJCCI) a procédé au retrait définitif des trois nichoirs qui abritaient les faucons pèlerins sur le pont Champlain d’origine. Cette délicate opération a été réalisée par l’équipe de Skytech, supervisée par Services Environnementaux Faucon (SEF) en prévision de la déconstruction du pont Champlain qui débutera en 2020.  Comme ces oiseaux reviennent vers le début du mois d’avril pour fonder une famille, le retrait des nichoirs devait être effectué dès maintenant.

Par ailleurs, deux nichoirs ont été installés sur le pont Samuel-De Champlain afin de faciliter le « déménagement » des faucons vers la nouvelle structure. SEF a déjà remarqué la présence d’un faucon dans son nouveau condo ! C’est donc dire que la transition se passe très bien pour le moment.

Soulignons que PJCCI collabore avec les Services Environnementaux Faucon depuis 2002 à la mise en place des mesures compensatoires et de mitigation, dont l’installation de nichoirs, le respect d’un périmètre de sécurité en période de nidification lors de ses travaux, des suivis réguliers ou même des interventions particulières à réaliser lorsque nécessaire.

Pour tout savoir sur le retrait des nichoirs, nous vous invitons à litre l’article de La Presse en cliquant ici.