fbpx

Director, Engineering

14 November 2019

Full-time, permanent and unionized position – 37.5 h/week

At The Jacques Cartier and Champlain Bridges Incorporated (JCCBI), our teams work together to keep users safe by managing, maintaining and rehabilitating our infrastructure, optimizing traffic flow, and respecting the environment.

Join JCCBI for an exciting career! Become part of a growing organization that offers interesting challenges.

 

SUMMARY

As part of its different activities to keep its portfolio of civil engineering structures in good condition, the Corporation plans, develops and carries out major maintenance work on its assets (bridges, viaducts, tunnels, roads, intelligent transportation systems, etc.) to make sure that people can safely use them and that they last as long as possible. When planning its work, the Corporation must also consider the current and future needs of users, how its structures fit into their urban surroundings, environmental protection, as well as different aspects of sustainable development.

The mission of the Engineering Department is to develop and maintain in-depth knowledge of its structures in order to efficiently develop repair and development contracts from a standpoint of sustainable development and while providing access to information about the Corporation’s inventory of assets and their current condition.

Reporting to the Senior Director, Operations you will be responsible for ensuring that the Engineering Department carries out its mission. You will have the support of twenty (20) employees as well as the cooperation of all the Corporation staff.

You will help Senior Management take the required action to establish technical standards and practices (reference terms and standard and specific construction specifications) and establish and maintain the information required for efficient operational management.

For projects under the responsibility of a Project Director, the Engineering Department allocates the required engineering resources to this director to create the reference terms and plans and specifications and to provide technical assistance during the work. In these cases, you will supervise and assist these engineers.

You will also act as an engineering expert and leader for the Corporation and recommend best practices. In this capacity, you will establish policies, propose and implement improvements to current practices, and help in decision-making with regard to the directions that the Corporation must take.

 

MAIN DUTIES

• As Director, Engineering, you will be responsible for planning, developing, directing and evaluating all activities related to your department. More specifically, you will establish different activities that the department must perform every year and for the next ten years. You will plan and organize the work of all resources in the department, suggest the required resources (human, financial and material) to carry out the department’s activities, and direct the department’s work and activities. You will also monitor new practices to verify the actual impact compared to the expected impact and make any necessary adjustments;

• You will direct contract launch activities related to the department’s activities and ensure that the various services provided by your teams meet the expected quality level;

• You will establish technical standards and practices;

• You will inform senior management and project directors about the status of different projects and different initiatives;

• You will prepare different accountability reports that the Corporation must submit to the government;

• You will oversee the management of operations related to the Corporation’s retaining walls;

• You will manage staff, which includes coaching your team and defining its priorities. You will develop a culture of collaboration, sharing and discipline and foster a respectful work environment;

• You will propose the required budgets to carry out the activities related to your sector. You will take part in the process to prepare annual budgets and follow up on the Department’s budget and the contracts under its responsibility;

• You will stay up-to-date with existing and emerging practices: you will attend occasional networking events to raise the Corporation’s profile and remain at the forefront of the latest trends and innovations in your field.

 

REQUIREMENTS

• Hold an undergraduate degree from a recognized university with a specialization in civil engineering; a graduate degree in civil engineering, with a specialization in structural engineering or project management, would be considered an asset;
• Be a member of l’Ordre des Ingénieurs du Québec;
• Have a minimum of 12 years of experience in civil engineering structures, including at least 5 years in a management role;

• Have served as a senior project manager for large-scale projects in the public and private sectors;
• Have experience in supervising staff;
• Have experience with contract management: identification of needs, contract drafting, procurement, contractual monitoring (deliverables, quality, deadlines and cost);
• Have in-depth knowledge of the laws, regulations, standards, trends, orientations, and recent developments in your field of expertise;
• Have good writing skills and a strong ability to communicate clearly and effectively;
• Inspiring leadership, remarkable interpersonal skills, and the ability to motivate employees using a collaborative and continuous improvement approach;
• Change management skills and client-focused approach;
• A genuine appreciation for innovation. Organization and planning skills;
• Analytical skills. Sense of synthesis;
• Attention to detail and quality;
• Be recognized for your expertise, thoroughness and team spirit;
• Integrity: behave with sincerity, decency and honesty;
• Show scientific curiosity and independence;
• Working knowledge of Excel, Word, Access, and MS Project;
• Fluent in English and French, both written and spoken.

 

WHAT WE OFFER
Further your career in a stimulating and pleasant work environment at a strong organization whose key values are teamwork, transparency, thoroughness, innovation and commitment.

We offer a workplace that is accessible by public transit and car (parking available), a competitive salary, and a comprehensive benefits package, including a pension plan with the federal public service.

Join the JCCBI family and send your CV and cover letter to:

Karine Robert, Associate
Octave Mæcenas,
recrutement & conseils, S.E.N.C.
514.743.0998

[email protected]
www.octavemaecenas.com

fbpx

Directeur, Ingénierie

14 novembre 2019

Poste permanent à temps plein – 37,5 h/semaine

L’utilisation du masculin est dans le but d’alléger le texte

 

Chez Les Ponts Jacques Cartier et Champlain Incorporée (PJCCI), nos équipes travaillent ensemble pour assurer un passage sécuritaire aux usagers par la gestion, l’entretien et la réfection des infrastructures en optimisant la fluidité de la circulation et en respectant l’environnement.

Faites le pont, joignez-vous à nous pour une carrière stimulante ! Venez participer à la croissance de l’entreprise où de nombreux projets vous attendent !

 

SOMMAIRE
Relevant du Directeur principal, Exploitation, le Directeur a la responsabilité d’assurer que le service Ingénierie réalise sa mission. Pour ce faire, le Directeur a le soutien direct de vingt (20) employés et la collaboration de tous les employés de la Société.

Il accompagne la direction principale dans la mise en œuvre des actions requises afin d’établir les normes et pratiques techniques (termes de références et devis de construction normalisés et spécifiques) et d’établir et maintenir les informations nécessaires à la bonne gestion des actifs.

Pour la réalisation des projets effectués sous la responsabilité d’un directeur de projet, la direction ingénierie lui alloue les ressources nécessaires en ingénierie pour l’élaboration des termes de références et des plans et devis, ainsi que pour une assistance technique durant les travaux. Il assure, pour ce faire, une supervision et une assistance aux ingénieurs concernés.

Il agit à titre d’expert et de leader en ingénierie au sein de la Société et recommande les meilleures pratiques. À ce titre, il établit les politiques, propose et implante des améliorations aux pratiques actuelles et aide la prise de décision sur les orientations que la Société doit prendre.

Dans le cadre de ses différentes activités pour le maintien en état son portefeuille d’ouvrages d’art, la Société planifie, élabore et réalise des travaux majeurs d’entretien de ses actifs (ponts, viaducs, tunnels, chaussées, STI, etc.) afin d’assurer un passage sécuritaire aux usagers et la pérennité de ses infrastructures. La Société doit également considérer dans l’élaboration de ses travaux, les besoins actuels et futurs des usagers, l’intégration urbaine des ouvrages, la protection de l’environnement, ainsi que les différents volets liés au développement durable.

La direction Ingénierie a pour mission d’assurer et de maintenir une fine connaissance de ses ouvrages d’art pour élaborer de façon efficiente les contrats des projets de réfection et de développement, dans une optique de développement durable, tout en rendant accessible les connaissances de l’inventaire des actifs et de leur état à jour.

 

PRINCIPALES RESPONSABILITÉS
• Le Directeur est responsable de planifier, développer, diriger et évaluer l’ensemble des activités liées à son service.

Plus précisément, il établit les différentes activités que le service doit réaliser annuellement et celles à venir et pour les dix (10) prochaines années, il planifie et organise le travail de l’ensemble des ressources du service, propose les ressources (humaines, financières et matérielles) nécessaires pour la réalisation des activités du service et il dirige le travail et les activités du service. Il fait également le suivi des nouvelles pratiques pour en vérifier l’impact réel par rapport à l’impact attendu et y apporte les ajustements nécessaires;

• Il dirige les activités reliées au lancement de contrat relié aux activités du service et s’assure que les divers services rendus par ses équipes répondent à la qualité attendue;
• Il établit les normes et pratiques techniques;
• II informe la direction principale et les directeurs de projet de l’évolution de l’état des différents projets et des différentes initiatives;
• Il prépare les différentes redditions de compte que la Société doit faire auprès du gouvernement;
• Assure la gestion des opérations reliées aux murs de confinements de la société;
• Il assure la gestion du personnel, ce qui comprend le coaching et définir les priorités de son équipe. Il développer une culture de collaboration, de partage et de rigueur et favorise le maintien d’un climat de travail respectueux;
• Il propose les budgets requis pour réaliser les activités liées à son secteur. Il participe au processus de préparation des budgets annuels et assure le suivi du budget du service et des contrats sous la responsabilité du service;
• Il réalise une vigie des pratiques externes existantes et en développement : il assure une présence ponctuelle à des événements de réseautage afin de contribuer au rayonnement de la Société et être à l’affût des nouvelles tendances et innovations dans son domaine.

 

EXIGENCES
• Détenir un diplôme universitaire de 1er cycle d’une université reconnue, spécialisation en génie civil – un diplôme de deuxième cycle en génie civil, spécialisation structure ou en gestion de projet, constituerait un atout;
• Être membre de l’Ordre des Ingénieurs du Québec;
• Posséder une expérience minimale de douze (12) années dans le domaine des ouvrages d’art et au moins cinq (5) ans à titre de gestionnaire;
• Avoir agi à titre de chargé de projet senior pour des projets d’envergure dans les secteurs public et privé;
• Détenir une expérience en supervision de personnel;
• Avoir une expérience en gestion contractuelle : identification des besoins, rédaction, approvisionnement, suivi contractuel (livrable, qualité, échéancier et coût);
• Avoir une connaissance approfondie des lois, règlements et normes, des tendances, des orientations et des récents développements dans son domaine de compétences;
• Posséder de bonnes habiletés rédactionnelles et une solide capacité à communiquer clairement et efficacement;
• Leadership mobilisateur, aptitudes interpersonnelles remarquables et capacité de mobilisation d’employé dans une approche de collaboration et d’amélioration;
• Gestion du changement. Approche client et partenaire d’affaires;
• Sens de l’innovation, et de l’organisation;
• Capacité d’analyse et de synthèse;
• Souci du détail et de la qualité;
• Être reconnu pour son expertise, sa rigueur et son esprit d’équipe;
• Intègre, se comporte avec probité, droiture et honnêteté;
• Connaissance pratique des logiciels Excel, Word, Access et MS Project;
• Avoir une bonne maîtrise du français et de l’anglais, tant à l’oral qu’à l’écrit.

 

NOTRE OFFRE
Vous évoluez dans un environnement stimulant et agréable au sein d’une entreprise solide dont les valeurs essentielles sont l’esprit d’équipe, la transparence, la rigueur, l’innovation et l’engagement.

Nous vous offrons un emploi facilement accessible en transports en commun et en voiture (stationnement disponible), ainsi qu’un salaire compétitif et un ensemble complet d’avantages sociaux comprenant un plan de pension de la fonction publique fédérale.

Rejoignez la grande famille des Ponts et faites parvenir votre CV ainsi que votre lettre de présentation à:

Karine Robert, associée
Octave Mæcenas,
recrutement & conseils, S.E.N.C.
514.743.0998

[email protected]
www.octavemaecenas.com