ALFRED DURANLEAU

21 June 2017

A lawyer and politician at the provincial and federal levels, Alfred Duranleau did his graduate studies in Montreal at Université Laval (which become Université de Montréal in 1920) before being called to the Barreau du Québec. He was the Minister of Marine and Fisheries when the Harbour Bridge was renamed the Jacques Cartier Bridge. During the official naming ceremony, the Honourable Alfred Duranleau received the gift of a bronze bust from the French Government on behalf of Canada.

What do we know about Alfred Duranleau?

 

A native of Farnham, he studied the law and worked as a lawyer in Montreal before embarking on a career in politics in 1923. He served as an MNA in the provincial riding of Montréal-Laurier and an MP in the federal riding of Chambly-Verchères before being appointed as a federal minister. On September 1, 1934, Mr. Duranleau officially proclaimed the Harbour Bridge’s new name in the presence of a special delegation from France. This highly formal ceremony was held right on the bridge amidst the sounds of the Canadian and French national anthems being played by a brass band.

Alfred Duranleau was also involved in the local community and active with organizations such as the examination board of the Barreau du Québec, Hôpital Notre-Dame in Montreal, the Montreal chamber of commerce, and the Montreal press club.

Alfred Duranleau

21 juin 2017

Avocat et homme politique sur la scène provinciale et fédérale, Alfred Duranleau complète à Montréal ses études supérieures à l’Université Laval (qui deviendra l’Université de Montréal en 1920), avant d’être admis au Barreau du Québec. Il est ministre de la Marine et des Pêcheries lorsque le nom du pont du Havre change pour Jacques-Cartier. À cette occasion, l’Honorable Alfred Duranleau reçoit au nom du Canada le buste de bronze offert par le gouvernement français lors de la cérémonie officielle.

Que sait-on sur Alfred Duranleau?

Natif de Farnham, il étudie le droit et exerce sa profession à Montréal avant de se lancer en politique en 1923. Au fil de sa carrière de politicien, Alfred Duranleau est élu député dans Montréal-Laurier et Chambly-Verchères avant d’accéder à un poste de ministre fédéral. Le 1er septembre 1934, M. Duranleau fait la proclamation officielle du nouveau nom du pont en compagnie d’une délégation spéciale venue de France. Cette cérémonie hautement protocolaire a lieu sur le pont au son des hymnes nationaux du Canada et de la France joués par une fanfare.

Engagé dans la communauté québécoise, Alfred Duranleau s’impliquera notamment au sein de plusieurs organisations dont le Bureau des examinateurs du Barreau du Québec, l’Hôpital Notre-Dame de Montréal, la Chambre de commerce de Montréal et le Club des journalistes.