fbpx

Jacques-Cartier Bridge | Discovery of a 19th-Century Pipe Kiln

21 November 2019

Photo credits: Simon Filiatrault, Eng. M.B.A., EXP

 

ARCHAEOLOGICAL DIG UNDER THE JACQUES CARTIER BRIDGE

Discovery of a 19th-century pipe kiln

 

As part of its work under the Jacques Cartier Bridge, The Jacques Cartier and Champlain Bridges Incorporated (JCCBI) conducted an archaeological dig near some bridge piers located south of De Lorimier Avenue. The goal of the dig was to find the location of a kiln used in the 19th century to fire pipes. Today, we are pleased to announce that the researchers located a massive pipe kiln from the Henderson factory.

 

 

Photo credits: Carl Ritondo, Atwill-Morin and Dan Simirea, CIMA+ Hatch 

 

As the Henderson pipe factory was founded in 1847 by William Henderson, Sr., and taken over by the founder’s grandsons, the Dixon brothers, in 1876, this kiln may have been built sometime between 1847 and 1892. It is possible that the kiln was rebuilt along the way, as this type of equipment required regular maintenance and repairs.

Old maps of the area confirm that the land lot was occupied by the Hendersons and Dixons starting in 1847. One of the maps illustrates the kiln’s location in the factory’s back yard, and “Henderson / Montreal” is even stamped on most of the pipes found around the kiln and on the land lot discovered directly to the west (near Sainte-Catherine Street) in 2005.

 

Photo credits:  Mr. Christian Roy, archaeologist

 

Faubourg Sainte-Marie, as it was called at the time, was a working-class neighbourhood with many industries concentrated in the food, textile, leather and tobacco sectors. In the last quarter of the 19th century, glass and metalwork plants were added to the neighbourhood. Faubourg Sainte-Marie, and specifically the quadrangle formed by Sainte-Catherine, De Lorimier, Viger and Dorion, was also known as Montreal’s pipemaker’s district.

According to the manufacturer’s census records, the Henderson factory employed about fifty workers in both 1861 and 1871. From 225 tonnes to 300 tonnes of pipe clay were processed annually and, in 1871, nearly 7 million pipes were produced per year, which equals 22,000 boxes or 50,000 gross (1 gross = 12 dozen). The Hendersons were of Scottish descent and native to Glasgow, and most of their employees were Scottish and Irish immigrants.

JCCBI has completed the archaeological dig in this area where most of the remains have been found.

fbpx

Pont Jacques-Cartier | Découverte d’un four à pipes datant du 19e siècle

21 novembre 2019

Crédits photo : Simon Filiatrault, ing. M.B.A., EXP

 

FOUILLES ARCHÉOLOGIQUES SOUS LE PONT JACQUES-CARTIER
Découverte d’un four à pipes datant du 19e siècle

 

Dans le cadre des travaux effectués sous le pont Jacques-Cartier, les Ponts Jacques Cartier et Champlain Incorporée (PJCCI) a procédé à des fouilles archéologiques près de certaines piles du pont situées au sud de l’avenue De Lorimier. Ces fouilles avaient le potentiel de trouver l’emplacement d’un four utilisé pour cuire les pipes au 19e siècle. Or, nous sommes heureux d’annoncer aujourd’hui que les chercheurs ont trouvé un imposant four à pipes de la fabrique Henderson.

 

 

Crédits photo : Carl Ritondo, Atwill-Morin et Dan Simirea, CIMA+ Hatch 

 

La fabrique de pipes Henderson, fondée en 1847 par William Henderson sr, et reprise par les petits-fils du fondateur, les frères Dixon en 1876, nous indique que ce four date possiblement des années 1847 à 1892. Il demeure possible que ce four ait été reconstruit en cours de route, car ce genre de structure nécessitait un entretien régulier et des réparations.

Ce lot a été occupé par les Henderson et Dixon depuis 1847, comme le confirment les cartes anciennes. L’une d’entre elles illustre même l’emplacement du four en cour arrière. De plus, on retrouve la mention « Henderson / Montreal » sur la très grande majorité des pipes mises au jour autour du four ainsi que sur le lot découvert directement à l’ouest (près de la rue Sainte-Catherine) en 2005.

 

Crédits photo :  M. Christian Roy, archéologue 

 

Le faubourg Sainte-Marie, comme on l’appelait à l’époque, était un quartier ouvrier doté de plusieurs industries qui se concentraient dans les secteurs de l’alimentation, du textile, du cuir et du tabac. S’y ajoutent au cours du dernier quart du 19e siècle, des usines de verre et de métallurgie. Le faubourg Sainte-Marie était aussi connu comme étant le quartier des pipiers de Montréal, et plus particulièrement le quadrilatère formé par les rues Sainte-Catherine, De Lorimier, Viger et Dorion.

La fabrique Henderson employait une cinquantaine de travailleurs, tant en 1861 qu’en 1871, selon le recensement des manufacturiers. De 225 à 300 tonnes de terre à pipe y étaient transformées annuellement et l’on y produisait en 1871 près de 7 millions de pipes par année, soit 22 000 boîtes ou 50 000 gross (1 gross = 12 douzaines). Les Henderson étaient d’origine écossaise, natifs de Glasgow, et la plupart des employés étaient des immigrants écossais et irlandais.

PJCCI a terminé les fouilles archéologiques dans ce secteur où la plupart des vestiges ont été retrouvés.