East sector of the Solution Bonaventure: The system is ready to keep hydrocarbons from flowing into the St. Lawrence River

1 December 2017

Construction work on the infrastructure in the east sector of the Solution Bonaventure environmental project is complete, and users of the Bonaventure Expressway can now go back to using all three lanes towards Montreal.

“The run-in period has been very conclusive. The 127 wells that extract hydrocarbons from the groundwater are doing their work, and our two pumping stations can now start the phase to recover these compounds,” explained Philippe Larouche, the Environment Engineer dedicated to the project. “The volume of hydrocarbons that can be extracted from the soil is always difficult to estimate. In the coming months, we’ll start the operation phase, when our important task will be to optimize the system to maximize hydrocarbon extraction.”

The Solution Bonaventure environmental project aims to tackle a century of pollution with state-of-the-art and innovative systems to contain and treat contaminated groundwater. In the east sector, a retaining wall will stop hydrocarbons from flowing into the St. Lawrence River.

This important project is a concrete way to improve the river’s water quality thanks to mitigation measures that stop the migration of contaminated groundwater into this jewel of our ecological heritage.

To learn more about the project, watch this video and find out how this complex and innovative system was implemented and how it works.

Solution Bonaventure secteur Est : le système est prêt à confiner les hydrocarbures avant qu’ils ne s’écoulent vers le fleuve Saint-Laurent

1 décembre 2017

Les travaux en lien avec la construction des infrastructures du secteur Est du projet environnemental Solution Bonaventure sont maintenant terminés et les usagers peuvent maintenant circuler à 3 voies en direction Montréal.

« La période de rodage a été très concluante. Les 127 chambres d’extraction des hydrocarbures qui flottent au-dessus des eaux souterraines font bien leur travail, ce qui permet à nos deux stations de pompage d’entamer la phase de récupération de ces hydrocarbures », explique Philippe Larouche, Ingénieur environnement dédié à ce projet. « Le volume d’hydrocarbure pouvant être extrait des sols est toujours difficile à estimer. Nous entrons dans les prochains mois dans une phase d’exploitation où l’optimisation du système sera une tâche importante afin de maximiser l’extraction d’hydrocarbures ».
Rappelons que le projet environnemental Solution Bonaventure vise à contrer un siècle de pollution par la mise en place de systèmes pointus et novateurs ciblant les eaux souterraines contaminées. Dans le secteur Est, la construction du mur de confinement permet de stopper la propagation des hydrocarbures vers le fleuve Saint-Laurent.

Ce projet d’importance contribue de façon concrète à améliorer la qualité de l’eau du fleuve Saint-Laurent grâce aux mesures de mitigation mises de l’avant pour freiner la migration des eaux souterraines contaminées vers ce joyau de notre patrimoine écologique.

Pour en apprendre davantage sur le projet, vous pouvez visionner cette capsule afin de comprendre le fonctionnement et la mise en place de ce système complexe et innovant.