fbpx

Roméo Valois

26 May 2017

A graduate of the École Polytechnique de Montréal and the prestigious Massachusetts Institute of Technology, engineer Roméo Valois co-founded the Lalonde et Valois consulting engineering firm. Although the National Harbours Board was tasked with managing the construction of the Champlain Bridge in 1955, engineering consulting firm Pratley de Montréal was hired to create the plans and specifications and oversee the work. These engineers decided to partner with Lalonde et Valois to enhance the project coordination.

What do we know about Lalonde et Valois?

Valois partnered with a former classmate, Jean-Paul Lalonde, in a bold move to found his own engineering company in 1936. That year, the Quebec ministry of highways injected $50 million in the construction of roads and bridges. As the pair wanted to work on the problem of soil bearing capacity, a year later they acquired National Boring and Sounding, a company that specialized in the study of land that supports building, bridge and tunnel foundations.

The firm was able to expand its business even amidst the economic turmoil caused by the Second World War. Lalonde and Valois worked on major national projects, including over two hundred projects that dealt with major construction, school expansions, and renovations.

Quebec engineering comes into its own

Despite the heavy involvement of foreign engineers in major construction projects, the alumni association of the École Polytechnique de Montréal succeeded in positioning its graduates at the highest levels of the province’s civil service. After the launch of the $50-million transportation infrastructure program, Francophone engineers from Quebec moved into leadership positions for important infrastructure projects, such as the Champlain Bridge and the Honoré Mercier Bridge.

Roméo Valois

26 mai 2017

Ingénieur diplômé de l’École Polytechnique de Montréal et du réputé Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Roméo Valois est le cofondateur du bureau d’ingénieurs-conseils Lalonde et Valois. Alors que la gestion de la construction du pont Champlain est confiée au Conseil des ports nationaux en 1955, la préparation des plans, des devis et la surveillance des travaux sont octroyées au bureau d’ingénieurs-conseils Pratley de Montréal. Pour une meilleure coordination du projet, ces derniers s’associent avec Lalonde et Valois.

Que sait-on sur le bureau d’ingénieurs conseil Lalonde et Valois?

Audacieux, Valois choisit de faire équipe avec son ancien camarade de classe, Jean-Paul Lalonde, pour fonder sa propre société d’ingénierie en 1936. Cette année-là, 50 millions de dollars seront injectés par le ministère de la Voirie pour la construction de routes et de ponts. Voulant s’attaquer au problème de la capacité portante des sols, le duo acquiert un an plus tard la société National Boring and Sounding, une firme notamment spécialisée dans l’étude de terrain supportant la fondation de bâtiments, ponts et tunnels.

Malgré l’instabilité économique causée par la Seconde Guerre mondiale, l’expansion de la firme va bon train. Lalonde et Valois travaillent à l’élaboration de grands projets nationaux incluant plus de deux cents projets de construction d’envergure, d’agrandissement d’écoles et de rénovation.

L’avènement du génie québécois

Malgré la forte présence d’ingénieurs d’origine étrangère au sein des plus importants chantiers, l’Association des Anciens Élèves de l’École polytechnique de Montréal (AAÉÉPM) persiste à positionner ses diplômés dans les plus hautes sphères de la fonction publique. Suite au lancement du programme d’infrastructures de transport de 50 millions, on observe la montée d’ingénieurs québécois de langue française dans l’érection d’infrastructures d’importance telles que les ponts Champlain et Honoré-Mercier pour ne nommer que celles-là.