Pierre-Étienne Flandin

30 June 2017

Pierre-Étienne Flandin studied in France at the Lycée Carnot, where he received his degree in political science and law before being called to the bar in Paris. A politician with a true passion for transportation, he was the Minister of Public Works in France when the Harbour Bridge was renamed the Jacques Cartier Bridge. He was therefore a member of the French delegation that attended the bridge’s official naming ceremony.

What was Pierre-Étienne Flandin’s mark on history?

From the start of his career, Pierre-Étienne Flandin fell in love with aviation. He received his pilot’s license while fulfilling his military service and fought with the AF33 French air force squadron in World War I during the Battle of the Yser. He was then summoned to serve as aeronautics rapporteur for the Senate Army Commission and oversaw the commission before becoming its president. As the years went on, he helped develop commercial aviation in France, as he was responsible for passing the country’s first air transportation budget. His other contributions include overseeing regulations surrounding air traffic, in addition to helping develop training centres for reserve pilots. Flandin became one of the most eminent air industry specialists of his time.

For the official name change of the Jacques Cartier Bridge, Flandin attended the official ceremony, where he had a front-row seat to see the French Government give Canada a bronze bust of the famous Malouin explorer and discoverer.

Source: BAnQ

Pierre-Étienne Flandin

30 juin 2017

Pierre-Étienne Flandin complète ses études au lycée Carnot en France où il obtient son diplôme en sciences politiques et en droit, avant d’obtenir son Barreau à Paris. Passionné des transports, il est ministre des Travaux publics en France lorsque le nom du pont du Havre change pour Jacques-Cartier. À ce titre, il fait partie de la délégation française lors de la cérémonie officielle.

Quelle marque a laissé Pierre-Étienne Flandin?

Dès le début de sa carrière, Pierre-Étienne Flandin tombe en amour avec l’aviation, au point d’obtenir son brevet de pilote alors qu’il accomplissait son service militaire à la campagne de l’Yser, avec l’escadrille A.F 33. Nommé rapporteur de l’aéronautique à la commission de l’armée, il sera en charge du contrôle de celle-ci avant de diriger le service. Dans les années suivantes, il contribue à l’organisation de l’aviation commerciale, notamment en faisant voter le premier budget des transports aériens. Parmi ses autres contributions, il chapeaute aussi la réglementation entourant la circulation des avions en plus de participer à la mise sur pied de centres d’entraînement pour les pilotes de réserve. Flandin s’impose comme l’un des plus éminents spécialistes des questions aériennes de son temps.

À l’occasion du changement officiel du nom du pont du Havre pour celui de Jacques-Cartier, Pierre-Étienne Flandin assiste à la cérémonie protocolaire. À cette occasion, il est aux premières loges pour voir le gouvernement français remettre au Canada un buste de bronze à l’effigie du célèbre explorateur et découvreur malouin.

Source : BAnQ