Philippe Fougerolle

9 June 2017

In 1844, French mason Philippe Fougerolle founded the company that still bears his name. The Fougerolle company worked on the design of many large-scale structures and was responsible for developing the construction of the Champlain Bridge.

What do we know about the Fougerolle company?

The company’s story started in France. After finishing work on the Canal du Nivernais, Philippe Fougerolle received the royal engineering seal to work on roads and bridges in Nièvre. With this recognition, Fougerolle received a stamp of approval that let him submit tenders for major projects. From the Mauvages Tunnel to the Tancarville Bridge, Fougerolle had a hand in the construction of many viaducts, tunnels and bridges in France.

Many years later, and thousands  of kilometres away in Montreal, it was announced that a toll bridge would be built over the St. Lawrence River. The National Harbours Board invited representatives from Greater Montreal cities and governments to decide on the location of the structure. The design of the plans and specifications and the supervision of the work was handed over to the Pratley de Montréal consulting engineering firm. To enhance the project coordination, the Champlain Bridge construction project was divided into seven sectors, including the access ramps, metal structure and concrete deck. The Fougerolle company from France was hired to oversee the development of the entire project. Five years after the first construction contract was awarded, the Champlain Bridge opened to traffic in June 1962.

Philippe Fougerolle

9 juin 2017

Maçon français, Philippe Fougerolle fonde l’entreprise qui porte son nom en 1844. Associée à la conception de plusieurs structures d’envergure, l’entreprise Fougerolle sera responsable de l’élaboration du projet de construction du pont Champlain.

Que sait-on de l’entreprise Fougerolle?

L’épopée de l’entreprise débute en France. Une fois les travaux du canal du Nivernais achevés, Philippe Fougerolle obtient le sceau royal de l’ingénieur des ponts et chaussées de la Nièvre. Par cette reconnaissance, Fougerolle reçoit une marque de confiance qui lui permet dorénavant de soumissionner afin de participer à la réalisation de mandats d’importance. Passant par le souterrain des Mauvages jusqu’au pont de Tancarville, l’entreprise Fougerolle prend part à la construction de plusieurs structures françaises telles que des viaducs, tunnels et ponts.

Pendant ce temps, à plusieurs centaines de kilomètres de la France, est annoncée la construction d’un pont à péage pour la traversée du fleuve Saint-Laurent à Montréal. Le Conseil des ports nationaux rassemble les représentants des villes du Grand Montréal et des gouvernements afin de décider de l’emplacement de la structure. Dès lors, la conception des plans et des devis ainsi que la surveillance des travaux seront confiées au bureau d’ingénieurs-conseils Pratley de Montréal. Pour une coordination optimale, la construction de la structure qu’est aujourd’hui le pont Champlain est divisée en sept secteurs, comme les accès, l’ouvrage métallique et le tablier de béton, pour ne nommer que ceux-ci. L’élaboration de l’ensemble du projet sera confiée à l’entreprise française Fougerolle. Cinq ans après l’octroi du premier contrat de construction, le pont Champlain est ouvert à la circulation en juin 1962.