Philippe Ewart

20 April 2017

Philippe Ewart was hired to work on the construction of the Champlain Bridge because of his expertise in traffic flow. This engineer had to coordinate this vast project to create a direct connection between Montreal and the road network leading to Sherbrooke.

Did you know that Philippe Ewart was both an engineer and an author?

In 1956, the National Harbours Board, which was officially in charge of the project, held consultations with stakeholders to decide on the exact location for the new bridge. Once the route was determined, the design and construction work was awarded to Philip Louis Pratley, who died suddenly a year later. His son Hugh Pratley took over the reins and, to better manage the project, partnered with a trio of engineers, one of whom was Philippe Ewart.

The work started in 1957 and the bridge opened to traffic on June 28, 1962. Quebec’s harsh weather conditions along with tight deadlines and a small work force put considerable pressure on the project. Thanks to sophisticated tools and an innovative use of girders, the Champlain Bridge became the source of great advances in construction techniques for multiple-span bridges.

After this experience, Ewart and his associates went on to write a number of books, including works on highway tolls and urban traffic.

Philippe Ewart

20 avril 2017

Expert dans le domaine de la circulation automobile, Philippe Ewart obtient un mandat d’envergure dans la construction du pont Champlain. L’ingénieur assurera la coordination de ce vaste chantier offrant une liaison directe entre Montréal et Sherbrooke.

Saviez-vous que l’ingénieur Philippe Ewart est aussi un auteur?

Officiellement mandaté pour mener à terme le projet, le Conseil des ports nationaux réunit en 1956 les parties prenantes pour décider de l’emplacement exact du nouveau pont. Une fois le tracé déterminé, l’ensemble de la conception et des travaux sont confiés au Dr Philip Louis Pratley. Ce dernier meurt toutefois subitement un an plus tard. Son fils Hugh (H.H.L.) Pratley prend alors la relève et s’associe avec un trio d’ingénieurs, dont Philippe Ewart, pour une meilleure prise en charge du projet.

Les travaux commencent en 1957 et le pont s’ouvre à la circulation le 28 juin 1962. Les conditions climatiques québécoises difficiles, les délais serrés et la main d’œuvre réduite exercent une pression considérable sur le projet. Grâce à la création d’un outillage perfectionné et à un usage novateur de poutres, l’érection du pont Champlain a permis de faire grandement progresser les techniques de construction de ponts à travées multiples.

Suite à cette expérience, Ewart et ses associés se lancent dans la rédaction de plusieurs ouvrages traitant notamment de péages sur les autoroutes et du trafic en secteur urbain.