Marjorie Paré

26 September 2017

Marjorie Paré

Student in the supply chain management certificate program – HEC Montréal

Graduate in civil engineering – Polytechnique Montréal

May 2017 to August 2017

Champlain Bridge Project Office

Although Marjorie grew up almost right next to the Champlain Bridge, she only found out about internships at The Jacques Cartier and Champlain Bridges Incorporated through her cousin, a partner of JCCBI’s soccer team. Drawn by the varied job description and the opportunity to learn more about this structure that she sees every day, Marjorie was enthusiastic to join the Champlain Bridge Project Office a few months ago as an intern.

She appreciated how the small but dedicated and open team welcomed, supported and encouraged her. She also likes that she gets to work on many aspects of the engineering profession, such as project control, project coordination and inspections. With this team, Marjorie doesn’t feel like she’s limited to specific and repetitive tasks.

Marjorie’s experience as a JCCBI intern has given her confidence in her skills. She was happy to realize that the engineering profession goes well beyond drawings and calculations, as it also involves rewarding connections and insightful conversations with specialists who combine their expertise to develop innovative solutions.

At JCCBI, where she has recently been promoted junior engineer, Marjorie has also discovered a big plus that she never thought much about before: the chance to learn from an accomplished woman engineer and role model in the field. She has definitely appreciated the generosity and confidence of Geneviève Lampron, whom she would love to have as a mentor!

Although Marjorie found JCCBI through soccer, she has yet to put on her cleats with the rest of the team. Who knows? Maybe its recent promotion will convince her to end up on the field!

Marjorie Paré

26 septembre 2017

Marjorie Paré

Étudiante au Certificat en gestion de la chaîne logistique – HEC Montréal

Diplômée au baccalauréat en génie civil – Polytechnique

Mai 2017 à août 2017

Bureau de Projets Champlain

Bien qu’elle ait grandi dans l’environnement quasi immédiat du pont Champlain, c’est par sa cousine, partenaire de l’équipe de soccer de Les Ponts Jacques Cartier et Champlain Incorporée (PJCCI), que Marjorie a su que des stages étaient offerts chez nous. Attirée tant par la description très variée du stage que par la possibilité d’en apprendre plus sur cette structure qu’elle côtoie au quotidien, Marjorie s’est jointe avec enthousiasme il y a quelques mois à l’équipe du bureau de projets Champlain.

Elle apprécie d’avoir été si bien accueillie, soutenue et encouragée par une petite équipe dévouée et ouverte avec qui elle peut toucher à plusieurs aspects du métier d’ingénieur : contrôle de projet, coordination de projet et inspection. Auprès de cette équipe, Marjorie n’a pas l’impression d’être contrainte à des tâches précises et répétitives.

Grâce à son expérience de stagiaire chez PJCCI, Marjorie a pris confiance en ses aptitudes. Elle réalise également avec bonheur que le métier d’ingénieur va bien au-delà des dessins et des calculs, qu’il implique des contacts enrichissants et des conversations riches avec des collègues spécialistes mettant en commun leurs expertises pour développer des solutions innovantes.

Récemment promue à titre d’ingénieure junior, Marjorie a découvert chez PJCCI un aspect auquel elle accordait auparavant peu d’importance : l’opportunité de pouvoir échanger avec un modèle féminin et accompli d’ingénieure. Elle apprécie particulièrement la générosité et la confiance que lui témoigne Geneviève Lampron qu’elle aimerait bien avoir comme mentor!

Marjorie n’a toutefois pas encore joint les rangs de notre équipe de soccer qui lui a pourtant ouvert les portes chez PJCCI. Sa récente promotion l’encouragera-t-elle à enfin joindre l’équipe?