Marius Dufresne

16 June 2017

Engineer, surveyor and architect Marius Dufresne did his graduate studies at the École Polytechnique de Montréal before starting his career at the Longue-Pointe railway workshop. An expert in the construction of tunnels, bridges, dams and power stations in Quebec, he also helped build the Jacques Cartier Bridge substructure.

Did you know that Marius Dufresne designed the plans for his own château-style mansion?

From 1908 to 1918, Marius Dufresne worked as a civil engineer for the Cité de Maisonneuve. During this time, he actively participated in many of the city’s urban design and beautification projects that now form part of the architectural heritage of the Mercier-Hochelaga-Maisonneuve borough in Montreal. These landmarks include the Maisonneuve Market, the firehall, Maisonneuve City Hall as well as the Morgan public bath. A few years later in 1926, Marius Dufresne was involved in the construction of the Jacques Cartier Bridge, as he helped build the north piers and the structure’s deck. When the work began, the workers had to dig down to the bedrock at the gigantic work site to stabilize the piers. At the north and south approaches, the piers were built with steel and concrete, and their construction would require the use of 4,000,000 rivets, 475,000 bags of cement, and 33,000 tonnes of metal.

In his free time, the engineer designed the plans for his home, the Château Dufresne, which he built with the help of his brother Oscar and the French architect Jules Renard. Built as a double residence, Dufresne’s home was designed in the “château style” of Beaux Arts architecture, which was admired by the French-Canadian bourgeoisie at the time for its elegance. The Dufresne family lived there until 1940, when it was sold to the Pères de Sainte-Croix as a boarding school for children in the area. After being left vacant and subsequently restored by the MacDonald Stewart Foundation, the Château Dufresne was converted into the Dufresne-Nincheri Museum that stands at the site today.

Photo credit :

Marius Dufresne

16 juin 2017

Ingénieur, arpenteur et architecte, Marius Dufresne complète ses études supérieures à l’École polytechnique de Montréal avant de débuter sa carrière à l’atelier de chemin de fer de Longue-Pointe. Expert dans la construction de tunnels, de ponts, de barrages et de centrales électriques au Québec, il participe à la construction de la sous-structure du pont Jacques-Cartier.

Saviez-vous que Marius Dufresne a aussi conçu les plans de son propre château?

De 1908 à 1918, Marius Dufresne agit à titre d’ingénieur civil pour la Cité de Maisonneuve. Durant cette période, il participe activement aux projets d’urbanisation et d’embellissement de la ville, qui, aujourd’hui, font partie du patrimoine architectural de l’arrondissement Mercier-Hochelaga-Maisonneuve de Montréal : le Marché Maisonneuve, la caserne de pompiers, l’hôtel de ville de Maisonneuve ainsi que les bains publics Morgan. Quelques années plus tard, en 1926, Marius Dufresne est associé à la construction du pont Jacques-Cartier pour l’édification des piliers nord et le tablier de la structure. Lorsque les travaux débutent, le chantier est gigantesque et il faudra creuser jusqu’au roc pour stabiliser les piliers. Dans l’approche nord et sud, on utilise de l’acier et du béton pour la construction des piliers qui nécessiteront l’utilisation de quatre millions de rivets, 475 000 sacs de ciment et 33 000 tonnes de métal.

Dans ses temps libres, l’ingénieur conçoit les plans et construit sa résidence, le château Dufresne, en collaboration avec son frère Oscar et l’architecte français Jules Renard. Construite pour abriter deux résidences distinctes, la conception de ce château met en pratique les principes de l’architecture Beaux-arts, un style qu’affectionne particulièrement la bourgeoisie canadienne-française de l’époque pour son élégance. La famille Dufresne habite la résidence jusqu’en 1940 et est vendue aux pères de Sainte-Croix pour en faire un externat pour les enfants du quartier. Après avoir été vacant et ensuite restauré par la Fondation MacDonald Stewart, le château Dufresne se transforme pour devenir le Musée Dufresne-Nincheri que l’on connait aujourd’hui.

Sources photo :