Louis-Alexandre Taschereau

5 June 2017

Born in Quebec City in 1867, Louis-Alexandre Taschereau was a lawyer and politician who served as premier of Quebec from 1920 to 1936. He was proud that the Honoré Mercier Bridge was the first bridge built under the direction of French-Canadian engineers, and he gave a speech filled with patriotism and praise for the builders at the official inauguration ceremony in 1934.

What do we know about Louis-Alexandre Taschereau?

The son of a judge on the Supreme Court of Canada, Taschereau worked as a journalist before getting his law degree. Although initially destined for a brilliant legal career, he instead got involved in politics to the great surprise of his family. Given his family’s distinguished involvement in the province’s legal and political institutions, Taschereau quickly gained the trust of political authorities.

Louis-Alexandre Taschereau became a municipal councillor of his native city before becoming a liberal MNA and the Minister of Public Works and Labour. In 1920, he was elected Premier of Quebec.

Worried about how the Great Depression was putting a financial strain on so many Quebeckers, he and his government enacted the first law on unemployment. Throughout his term of office, he showed his commitment to the Quebec people by working for provincial rights over natural resources, broadcasting, fishing, and international trade.

Louis-Alexandre Taschereau sat in the National Assembly for over 35 years, a record that was only beaten in the 1990s. He was named an Officer of France’s Legion of Honour in 1924 and a Commander in 1927, and he received its Grand Cross in 1934.

Louis-Alexandre Taschereau

5 juin 2017

Né à Québec en 1867, Louis-Alexandre Taschereau est un avocat et homme politique qui devient le premier ministre du Québec sans interruption de 1920 à 1936. Fier de voir le pont Honoré-Mercier érigé sous la direction d’ingénieurs canadiens-français pour la toute première fois, Taschereau livre un discours empreint de patriotisme et d’éloges à l’égard des bâtisseurs, lors de la cérémonie d’inauguration officielle en 1934.

Que sait-on sur Louis-Alexandre Taschereau?

Fils d’un juge à la Cour suprême du Canada, il est journaliste avant de compléter ses études en droit. Destiné à une brillante carrière dans le domaine juridique, il choisit néanmoins de se lancer en politique, à la grande surprise de ses proches. Descendant d’une famille s’étant démarquée au sein d’institutions juridiques et politiques de la province, Taschereau gagne rapidement la confiance des instances politiques.

Louis-Alexandre Taschereau devient conseiller municipal de sa ville natale avant d’être député libéral et de se voir confier le ministère des Travaux publics et du Travail. En 1920, il est élu comme premier ministre du Québec.

Préoccupé par la situation financière précaire d’une partie de la population lors de la Grande Dépression, il adopte la première loi sur le chômage. Tout au long de son mandat, il démontre son engagement envers la population québécoise en confirmant les compétences provinciales notamment en matière de richesses naturelles, de radiodiffusion, de pêcheries et de commerce international.

Louis-Alexandre Taschereau siège pendant plus de trente-cinq ans à l’Assemblée législative, un record de longévité qui ne sera battu qu’au courant des années 90. Il est également nommé officier de la Légion d’honneur en 1924, commandeur en 1927, puis il est fait grand-croix en 1934.