Joseph Baermann Strauss

17 March 2017

Joseph Baermann Strauss dreamed of having a career in the arts and playing for his university football team. He ended up becoming a prolific engineer known for revolutionizing the design of bascule bridges. Over his career, he helped build over 400 drawbridges across North America, and he is most known for the famous Golden Gate Bridge  in San Francisco and the Jacques Cartier Bridge, an iconic symbol of Canadian architecture.

Did you know that the St. Lawrence once had an ice bridge?

In 1921, two ferries and an ice bridge (in addition to the Victoria Bridge) let people go back and forth between Montreal and the South Shore year-round. When these methods could no longer meet demand, the Montreal Chamber of Commerce and other non-governmental organizations joined forces to lobby for another bridge. With his partners Philip Louis Pratley and Charles Monsarrat, Strauss worked on the plans for the Jacques Cartier Bridge from 1925 to 1930.

Have you ever noticed the Jacques Cartier Bridge’s particular shape?

Interestingly, the new bridge ended up having three curves, one of which was not included in the engineers’ original designs.

The first curve over Île Sainte-Hélène was designed to protect the piers from the St. Lawrence River’s turbulent currents. The second curve, which is to the west of the cantilever span, aligns the bridge with Montreal’s north-south avenues. The third and last curve was not part of the original plans and was added near the western abutment because the owner of a soap factory refused to sell his property to the bridge’s management corporation.

Credit : San Francisco Public Library

Joseph Baermann Strauss

17 mars 2017

Joseph Baermann Strauss rêvait de faire carrière dans les arts et d’intégrer l’équipe de football de son université. Il est plutôt devenu un ingénieur prolifique reconnu pour la conception de ponts-levis de style « bascule ». Au fil de sa carrière, il a contribué à la construction de plus de 400 ponts-levis à travers l’Amérique, notamment le célèbre pont du Golden Gate à San Francisco, et le pont Jacques-Cartier, un symbole emblématique d’architecture au Canada.

Saviez-vous qu’un pont de glace a déjà existé sur le fleuve ?

En 1921, deux traversiers et un pont de glace permettent la circulation des usagers entre Montréal et la Rive-Sud durant l’année, en plus du pont Victoria. Néanmoins, la demande est telle que ces moyens ne suffisent plus. La Chambre de Commerce de Montréal et d’autres organisations non gouvernementales s’unissent pour réclamer un autre pont. S’associant à Philip Louis Pratley et à Charles Monsarrat, Strauss devient coresponsable de la conception des plans du pont Jacques-Cartier de 1925 à 1930.

Aviez-vous déjà remarqué le tracé particulier du pont Jacques-Cartier ?

Fait intéressant, ce nouveau pont est formé de trois courbes dont l’une, bien involontaire, n’avait pas été prévue par les ingénieurs-concepteurs.

Située sur l’île Sainte-Hélène, la première courbe a été conçue afin d’empêcher les piles d’être exposées aux turbulences causées par les courants du fleuve Saint-Laurent. La seconde, située à l’Ouest de la travée, permet que soient alignées les avenues Nord et Sud de Montréal. La troisième et dernière courbe ne figurait toutefois pas dans les plans d’origine. Elle a été ajoutée au pont près de sa culée Ouest, après qu’un propriétaire d’une fabrique de savon ait refusé de vendre sa propriété à la société gérant le pont.

Crédit photo : San Francisco Public Library