fbpx

John Young

30 March 2017

An influential member of the Harbour Commissioner’s of Montreal (the predecessor of the Montreal Port Authority), John Young was one of the first people to lobby for a bridge that connected the Island of Montreal to the South Shore. To encourage economic trade, this businessman called for the construction of what would be called the Royal Albert Bridge at the location where the Harbour Commissioners later inaugurated the Jacques Cartier Bridge in 1930.

Did you know that John Young is considered the father of the Port of Montreal?

A native of Scotland, John Young immigrated to Ontario  at the age of 15 and moved to Montreal four years later. With the goal of turning Montreal into a true business centre, he also started supporting the construction of many rail lines in the 1840’s , and in 1845 he called for the construction of the Victoria Bridge.

Some of the biggest projects of John Young’s career were with the Harbour Commissioners of Montreal. As its chairman from 1853 to 1866, he helped develop the Port of Montreal, particularly when it came to organizing customs, installing sea buoys, building docks, and training staff.

A legacy for Montrealers

Ambitious and anxious to see the city prosper, Young was one of Montreal’s most well-known public figures from the last half of the 19th century. Today, a bronze statue of Young stands in the Old Port of Montreal, at the corner of Commune  and d’Youville, in front of the seaway where dozens of ships used to pass.

John Young

29 mars 2017

Membre influent à la Commission du havre, ancêtre de la Société du port de Montréal, John Young est l’un des premiers à revendiquer la nécessité de construire un pont reliant l’île de Montréal à la Rive-Sud. Pour faciliter les échanges commerciaux, l’homme d’affaires propose d’ériger un pont qui s’appellera Royal-Albert, au même endroit où la Commission du havre inaugurera le pont Jacques-Cartier en 1930.

Saviez-vous que John Young est considéré comme le véritable père du port de Montréal?

Né en Écosse, John Young arrive au Canada à l’âge de 15 ans et emménage à Montréal quatre ans plus tard. Souhaitant transformer Montréal en véritable plaque tournante du commerce, il encourage la construction de chemins de fer vers la fin des années 1840 avant d’initier l’érection du pont Victoria en 1845.

John Young réalise certains de ses plus grands projets au sein de la Commission du havre de Montréal. En tant que président de l’organisme, de 1853 à 1866, il participe au développement du port de Montréal, notamment en ce qui a trait à l’organisation des douanes, l’installation de bouées maritimes, la construction des quais et la formation du personnel.

L’héritage laissé aux Montréalais

Ambitieux et soucieux de voir sa métropole prospérer, Young est l’un des personnages publics les plus connus à Montréal ayant vécu dans la seconde moitié du 19e siècle. Aujourd’hui, une statue de bronze à son image se dresse aux abords du secteur où voguaient autrefois des dizaines de navires, soit au coin des rues de la Commune et d’Youville, dans le Vieux-Port de Montréal.