Honoré Mercier

7 April 2017

Honoré Mercier was a journalist, lawyer and politician who is recognized as a visionary who worked for the interests of Quebec and French Canadians during the time of Confederation. In 1934, the Honoré Mercier Bridge, which was named in his honour, became the fourth structure after the Victoria Bridge, the Lachine Bridge and the Jacques Cartier Bridge to connect the Island of Montreal to the South Shore.

Did you know that Honoré Mercier started out in journalism?

Born to an extremely patriotic  family, Mercier developed a love and pride for Quebec at a young age. Attracted by the law and journalism, Mercier first decided to try his hand in the newspaper business and began his career as the editor of Le Courrier de Saint-Hyacinthe. A few years later, he started studying the law. He very quickly opened his own firm and became known as the best criminal lawyer in Saint-Hyacinthe.

After the death of his first wife, he felt ready to dive into politics in 1871. Wanting to stay true to his convictions, he left the party after a debate about Francophone rights in New Brunswick, during which he called for unity among all Francophones in Canada . Barely two months later, the premier of Quebec, Henri -Gustave Joly de Lotbinière, asked Mercier to put his oratorial talents to good use and become the main spokesperson for the party. Elected to the National Assembly in June 1879, he soon became more popular than the premier. He himself became premier two years later and governed Quebec until 1891. He made his mark through his policy of provincial independence in response to the centralization of the federal government.

Throughout his time in office, Honoré Mercier helped Quebec evolve with projects like the railway from Québec City to Lac-Saint-Jean, the opening of an immigration office in Montreal, and the creation of a health board.

Today, a number of monuments stand in his honour, including a sculpture in front of the Québec City Parliament Building, on Honoré-Mercier Avenue .

Photo credit: BAnQ

Honoré Mercier

7 avril 2017

Journaliste, avocat et homme politique, Honoré Mercier est reconnu comme un visionnaire ayant voulu mettre le Québec et les Canadiens français aux premiers rangs de la Confédération. Nommé en son honneur, le pont Honoré-Mercier devient en 1934 la quatrième infrastructure à relier l’île de Montréal à la Rive-Sud, après le pont Victoria, le pont de Lachine et le pont Jacques-Cartier.

Saviez-vous qu’Honoré Mercier a débuté sa carrière dans le monde des médias?

Né dans une famille des plus patriotiques, Mercier développe amour et fierté pour sa patrie dès son jeune âge. Attiré par les professions d’avocat et de journaliste, Mercier choisit d’abord le milieu médiatique. Il fait ses débuts en tant qu’éditeur du journal Le Courrier de Saint-Hyacinthe. Quelques années plus tard, il entreprend des études en droit. Rapidement, il ouvre son propre cabinet et devient le meilleur avocat en droit criminel de Saint-Hyacinthe.

Après la mort de sa première femme, il se sent prêt à plonger en politique en 1871. Désirant rester en accord avec ses convictions, il quitte le parti à la suite d’un débat sur les droits des francophones du Nouveau-Brunswick durant lequel il prend une position contraire à sa formation. À peine deux mois plus tard, le premier ministre du Québec, Henry-Gustave Joly de Lotbinière, fait appel à Mercier pour un rôle taillé sur mesure pour cet excellent orateur : devenir le principal porte-parole du parti. Élu à l’Assemblée nationale en juin 1879, sa popularité dépasse rapidement celle du premier ministre. Il accède lui-même à cette fonction deux ans plus tard et gouverne le Québec jusqu’en 1891. Il fait notamment sa marque en déployant une politique d’autonomie provinciale qui répond à la centralisation du gouvernement fédéral.

Tout au long de son mandat, Honoré Mercier fait progresser le Québec en travaillant notamment au chemin de fer reliant Québec et le Lac-Saint-Jean, à l’ouverture d’un bureau d’immigration à Montréal et à la création d’un comité de la santé.

Aujourd’hui, plusieurs monuments sont érigés à son effigie, dont la sculpture située en face du parlement de Québec, sur l’avenue Dufferin.

Crédit photo : BAnQ