Dominion Bridge Company

9 March 2017

Founded in the middle of the 19th century, the Dominion Bridge Company built all of Canadian Pacific’s rail bridges between Montreal and Vancouver. Over the years, this major company honed its steel expertise by working on many major structures, such as the Quebec Bridge, the Champlain Bridge, the structure of the Château Frontenac, the Mount Royal Cross and, of course, the Jacques Cartier Bridge!

How was the Dominion Bridge Company involved in the construction of the Jacques Cartier Bridge?

The $7-million contract that the Dominion Bridge Company won for the Jacques Cartier Bridge’s superstructure was the biggest construction contract ever awarded in its history. Two other companies—Dufresne Construction along with Quinlan, Robertson and Janin—divided the $1.1-million contract for the quays and approaches. The Dominion Bridge Company also built the Jacques Cartier Bridge’s main steel structure, which stands 590.5 meters tall over a span of 2,725 meters.

Where were all the women?

As was the case for many Canadian companies during the First World War, the Dominion Bridge Company hired women while men were away on the battle field. The company had to temporarily change its production for the military’s munitions needs, and many women employees helped manufacture shells at the factory.

Dominion Bridge Company

9 mars 2017

Fondée au milieu du 19e siècle, la Dominion Bridge Company reçoit le mandat de construire tous les ponts ferroviaires croisant la voie ferrée du Canadien Pacifique entre Montréal et Vancouver. Au fil des années, l’importante société concrétise son expertise dans le domaine de l’acier en édifiant plusieurs ouvrages majeurs tels le pont de Québec, le pont Champlain, la structure du Château Frontenac, la croix du mont Royal et….le pont Jacques-Cartier !

Que sait-on du rôle de Dominion Bridge Company dans la construction du pont Jacques-Cartier ?

En obtenant le mandat de 7 millions de dollars pour l’érection de la superstructure du pont Jacques-Cartier, la société obtient le plus important contrat de construction de son histoire. Deux autres compagnies, Dufresne Construction et Quinlan, Robertson, and Janin se divisent le contrat de 1,1 million de dollars pour les quais et les approches. La Dominion Bridge Company a entre autres construit la structure en acier principale du pont Jacques-Cartier, laquelle mesure 590,5 mètres sur une longueur totale de 2725 mètres.

Où sont les femmes ?

Comme dans plusieurs autres entreprises canadiennes, des femmes sont embauchées à la Dominion Bridge Company durant la Première Guerre mondiale. La société est toutefois contrainte d’orienter temporairement sa production en fonction des besoins militaires. De nombreuses employées prendront notamment part à la fabrication d’obus en usine.